Harvey Nichols: Campaign stepped up

Anti-Fur activists across the country have continued to campaign throughout the winter months against the sale of fur in Harvey Nichols on Saturday, with frequent and regular protests at Harvey Nichols in 8 cities across Britain and Ireland. This is the largest national anti fur campaign for many years, and began when Harvey Nichols dropped its fur free policy in Sepember. Since then tens of thousands of leaflets and postcards have been handed to customers calling for a boycott of Harvey Nichols, as protestors have gathered outside the store's branches in London, Edinburgh, Manchester, Liverpool, Bristol, Dublin, Leeds and Birmingham. Read More...

The protests look set to continue throughout the busy Christmas and New Year sales periods, please join us if you can. Contact us for details of protests in your area.

Please continue to contact Harvey Nichols, see below for details.

The campaign is in response to the store's decision in September to renege on its fur free policy and start selling real fur again. Since then, campaigners have been outside the various branches every week to protest and call on the public to boycott Harvey Nichols until they reinstate their fur free policy.

In October, Harvey Nichols' head of fashion Paula Reed was forced to resign over her decision to start selling fur again, but despite this the company has continued to sell fur.

Whether or not you can make the protests, please contact Harvey Nichols and ask them to stop selling fur. In particular call the individual stores during the protests to express your support, see below for all contact details.

 

Contact Alert. Please forward any replies to caft@caft.org.uk
Harvey Nichols Head Office, Telephone +44 (0)20 7235 5000, Email contactus@harveynichols.com
365 Chiswick High Road, Chiswick, London, W4 4HS.
GROUP PRESS & MARKETING DIRECTOR Julia Bowe Email julia.bowe@harveynichols.com (t) 020 7201 8647 | (ext) 4006
Press Office Email: pressteam@harveynichols.com, Lucy.Hodnett@harveynichols.com, Holly.Whitman@harveynichols.com, Tel: +44 (0)207 201 8650
London Store 109 - 125 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7RJ, Tel 020 7235 5000, Fax 0870 191 6019
Email: contact.knightsbridge@harveynichols.com
Bristol Store 27 Philadelphia Street, Quakers Friars, Cabot Circus, Bristol, BS1 3BZ Tel 0117 916 8888
Email Contact.Bristol@harveynichols.com
Manchester Store 21 New Cathedral Street, Manchester, M1 1AD, Tel 0161 828 8888, Fax 0161 828 8833
Email Contact.Manchester@harveynichols.com
Edinburgh Store 30 - 34 St Andrew Square, Edinburgh, EH2 2AD TEL 0131 524 8388 Fax 0131 524 8317
Email Contact.Edinburgh@harveynichols.com
Leeds Store 107-111 Briggate, Leeds, LS1 6AZ, Tel 0113 204 8888, Fax 0113 204 8889
Email contact.leeds@harveynichols.com
Dublin Store Dundrum Town Centre, Sandyford Road, Dublin 16, Tel + 353 (0) 1 291 0488, Fax + 353 (0) 1 291 0489 Email Contact.dublin@harveynichols.com
Liverpool Beauty Bazaar, Liverpool One, 16 Manesty’s Lane, Liverpool, L1 3DL TEL: 0845 606 0342
EMAIL: Beautybazaar.liverpool@harveynichols.com
Emails in one block to copy and paste.
contactus@harveynichols.com, julia.bowe@harveynichols.com, pressteam@harveynichols.com, Lucy.Hodnett@harveynichols.com, Holly.Whitman@harveynichols.com, contact.knightsbridge@harveynichols.com, Contact.Bristol@harveynichols.com, Contact.Manchester@harveynichols.com, Contact.Edinburgh@harveynichols.com, contact.leeds@harveynichols.com, Contact.dublin@harveynichols.com, Contantine.Tziambazis@harveynichols.com, Aileen.Thomson@harveynichols.com, Sally.Dunne@harveynichols.com, Shannon.EstradaStack@harveynichols.com, support.desk@harveynichols.com

 

 

Following a campaign in 2004, Harvey Nichols' Company Director said: "The board has today reviewed the company's fur policy and has decided going forward that we will no longer stock real fur items."

In an email to CAFT last week, their Press and Marketing Director wrote: "I can confirm that our buyers have bought fur trimmed products for this season. We have taken this opportunity to review our fur policy and from this season onwards we will be stocking fur trimmed products. The fur used is ethically sourced and humanely farmed."

It is vitally important to take action on this, Harvey Nichols is very influential in the world of fashion. If Harvey Nichols gets away with it, other department stores and fashion chains are likely to follow. Department stores are much more important and influential than individual shops in the fashion retail trade